LACROSSE, Wis. (WXOW) – The University of Viterbo is hosting a celebration of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. tonight.

The free program begins at 7 pm at the Viterbo Fine Arts Center.

The keynote address is by Dr. Andre Johnson of the University of Memphis.

During the event, two awards will honor a pair of community leaders.

The MLK Leadership Award goes to Bridget Todd-Robbins, who organizers say has been a leader in youth advocacy for the past 25 years. She is the Youth Care System Administrator, which is a shared position between the La Crosse School District and La Crosse County. The role was created to help “address the number of racially diverse youth being referred to the criminal justice system.”

Logan High School student Na’ziah Mclaurin received the Lynda Lowry Student Leadership Award. Organizers said the award “recognizes a ninth or 10th grade student who is committed to building community, enhancing diversity and working for justice.” Montgomery, Alabama.

The doors of the fine arts center open at 6:15. While the event is free, according to organizers, non-perishable food donations are encouraged for the Hunger Task Force.

For those unable to attend the event, the university is broadcasting it live on Facebook at